Leader: Martin Wehling Robert Jan van Marum


  1. to create a European network of clinicians and researchers devoted to improve the use of drugs in older subjects
  2. to promote the inclusion of older people in clinical trials
  3. to promote appropriate drug prescription in older people.

Relevance for the purposes of the EuGMS

The aims of the SIG are very relevant for geriatric research and practice.

N° of members: 137

Expected method of work

Annual meeting in coincidence with the EuGMS congress, email

First expected outcome and approximate date of completion

The systematic review about correlation between polypharmacy and frailty to be submitted within the end of the year

Way of communication among members


Planning of meetings

annual meeting in coincidence with the EuGMS congress

Next Meeting: 19th EuGMS International Congress, Helsinki September 20-22 - SIG Collateral Meeting - OPEN - SEPT 20th from 11.30am to 12.30pm Helsinki TIME

18th EuGMS International Congress, London September 28-30 - SIG Collateral Meeting - PRIVATE - SEPT 29th from 07.00am to 08.30am UK TIME

EuGMS SIG on Pharmacology OPEN online meeting - June 29th

17th EuGMS International Congress, Athens October 11-13 - SIG Collateral Meeting - OPEN- OCT 11th from 06.30pm to 08.00pm CEST

16th EuGMS International Congress, Athens October 7-9

Recent Publications

  1. Eur J Clin Pharmacol (2021) 77:1-12
  2. Drugs & Aging (2019) 36:299–307 https://doi.org/10.1007/s40266-018-0622-7
  3. Age and Ageing 2020; 1–11, doi: 10.1093/ageing/afaa249, joined activity with the EuGMS Task and Finish Group on Fall-Risk-Increasing Drugs



Dr Wilma Knol and Dr Michael Denkinger are representing EuGMS in the EMA Healthcare Professionals Working Party (HCPWP)